AFF

mynetapp128

Hello,

We were quoted for the following equipment below so I started doing some research on how to get started as I am totally new to this. My Confusion is with the controllers, does it come with disks or do I need to purchase the additional disk shelves. I get the fact that the disk shelves are for expansion but what do the internal disks on the actual controller used for , just the ontap OS?  Any help would be appreciated as  far as videos , documentation etc. Thank You

NetApp FAS3240 w/ IOXM 1.8PB 600 Dual enclosure HA; 2 controllers in two 3U chassis, total of 6U 16GB 4 4Gb FC, 6Gb SAS, GbE FC; FCoE; IP SAN (iSCSI); NFS; CIFS; HTTP; FTP, (18) X412A-R5 NetApp 600GB 15K 3GB SAS DS4243 Expansion DS4243 4U (for 3.5” SATA/SAS/SSD) 8.5TB 5 6 slots free for upgrades in current expansion

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

bobshouseofcards

I have to concur with James' previous response.  The FAS3240 HA pair you're being quoted must be aftermarket, in that NetApp stopped selling this model in 2013.  There are a ton of them available in the aftermarket, most that I've seen coming with a generic set of Data OnTap features "licensed", generally 7-mode style.

It is legal to sell the license rights to the OS/feature set that was last installed on them with the hardware, so that isn't the direct concern.  Rather, you have no idea what OS level you might be getting based on the quote.  Therefore you have no idea what old bugs might also be present, and being aftermarket you have no legal ability to update the OS going forward.  If you're looking to use this for any production style workload, that should raise a significant concern.