Data Backup and Recovery

SQL Clone Change Footprint

MIKECUTTS

Hi All,

Apologies if this is in the wrong forum, but I couldn't see one that was more applicable for this question.

I'm relatively new to NetApp as a product (though I have used it occasionally in the past), and am looking to implement database cloning.

I have a test environment with the volumes and LUNs set up in the way I want (ie. One Vol + One LUN for one of our mission critical database's data files, and one vol + one LUN for its log file). I want to be able to clone this database, possibly multiple times running on multiple different instances (all of which share the same NetApp hardware). Again I think I've got to this point successfully.

The question I have is that, if the database is 500GB and I take 2 clones of the database running on different instances, and there are subsequently 1GB amount of data change on each of the 3 instances, where is that space taken from? Is it from the snapshot reserve of the source of the clone, is it from the destination volumes? I don't seem to be able to find where that space is being allocated, though I have been working with far smaller data changes in the test environment I have implemented.

I just don't want to get into a situation where I'm putting the production server at risk by having clones which have significant data change each day.

Any thoughts would be gratefully received.

Thanks,

Mike.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

radek_kubka

Hi Mike,

According to my best knowledge this is correct.

Regards,

Radek

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

MIKECUTTS

Anyone any thoughts on this please?

Cheers,

Mike.

radek_kubka

Hi Mike,

Good questions. Are you talking about volume-level FlexClone? If that's the case, this article gives the answer to your question:

https://communities.netapp.com/docs/DOC-10323