Data Backup and Recovery

VSC plugin

ksmpu1

Hi all,

I've recently acquired a new position within my school district and have inherited a FAS2240, DS2246, and a FAS2220 as a DR. I'm very new to NetApp so please excuse my ignorance in some areas.

With that being said, I'm curious about the VSC plugin. Each of our two controllers contain 4-5 NFS volumes. Snapshots are currently configured for each volume within OnCommand. With this setup as I understand it, I cannot backup and restore individual VMs or individual files from .vmdk's. However, with VSC this is possible. My question is, does it sound okay to remove the current snapshot configurations and just rely on VSC? It sounds like VSC takes a snapshot at the volume level anyways, so it seems that it would essentially be the same setup as I have now, except for the backup/restore of individual VMs ability. Any thoughts would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

jkoelker01

We removed the snapshot ability at the volume level and rely solely on VSC to maintain our backups of our virtual machines. It gives you the ability to restore the server or individual files and is very quick. Another reason we removed the snapshotting is that we do tape backups of the volumes nightly as well as snapmirroring to our DR device. The plugin is very set it and forget it in terms of backups. It will email you if they fail which rarely happens.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3

jkoelker01

We removed the snapshot ability at the volume level and rely solely on VSC to maintain our backups of our virtual machines. It gives you the ability to restore the server or individual files and is very quick. Another reason we removed the snapshotting is that we do tape backups of the volumes nightly as well as snapmirroring to our DR device. The plugin is very set it and forget it in terms of backups. It will email you if they fail which rarely happens.

ksmpu1