ONTAP Discussions

Automate add and removal of SQL Databases with SnapManager

DAVIDBENOIT

I'm really new to much of this being that I am a DBA but we are using SnapManager for our backups primarily and for a DR solution. As part of that when we add or remove databases we will have a NetApp backup failure due to the new / removed database not being present. I'm wondering if there is a way to automate the SnapManager Configuration Manager so that the removal / addition of a database will not cause issues or wondering if we only make the SQL job that runs the NetApp backup dynamic to only hit active databases if that will be sufficient. I'm pretty sure I tried just removing the database from the list in the SQL job in the past and still had the failure so it seems that we have to run Configuration Manager. Being that our schedule is to take snapshots every hour the window is pretty small for a database to be added / removed and for CM to be run all in that time.

Any thoughts / suggestions woudl be greatly appreciated.

8 REPLIES 8

jason_lempka

David,

I ran across this post a while ago:

http://communities.netapp.com/message/24470#24470

and converted all of my SMSQL jobs to that format (C:\Program Files\NetApp\SnapManager for SQL Server\SmsqlJobLauncher.exe new-backup  –svr '<servername>'  -d '<servername>\<instance>', '0' ...) and everything works well.  We can add/remove databases from those servers\instances without adjusting the SMSQL jobs (this assumes that the databases are added  such that they follow the constraints of SMSQL requirements, in our case, separating the datafiles and TLogs on separate LUNS).

Hope this helps!

Thanks!

Jason

abuchmann

We also have standard-tasks to backup our servers:

new-backup  –svr '<svr>\<ins>'   -RetainBackupDays  7 -lb -bksif -RetainSnapofSnapInfoDays 7 -trlog  –mgmt standard  -ArchiveBackup  -ArchivedBackupRetention Daily

But is there a way to update the automatically update the protection (dataset) information?