Subscribe

Clearing old configuration information

We've moved one of our NetApp servers from one network to another. This new network has no access to the old one. We went through the process of changing the configuration to reflect the new IP addresses, DNS servers, and NTP servers etc. However, using something like WireShark we're able to see the filer trying to DNS lookups of addresses that exist on the old network. We checked and double-checked the configuration and can see no references to these addresses (in some cases we were seeing reverse DNS lookups by the server so it appears it may have a cache full of this old junk). Is there an method of "purging" all this old configuration information?

Re: Clearing old configuration information

Could it be old entries in the /etc/hosts file?

Re: Clearing old configuration information

Thanks for the suggestion but /etc/hosts contains no junk.

Re: Clearing old configuration information

I would first take a snapshot of the root volume, then re-run setup.