ONTAP Discussions

Coming back to the network creates ~.tmp files

drowningadmin

Hello,

I'm brand new to NetApp technology, but have been doing research.  My organization does all of it's file shares from a NetApp device using ONTAP for offline files.  Recently we discovered that when users were coming back to the network after saving files while offline, tmp files were being created when they re-joined the network; BEFORE sync center runs a sync.  The files are names with the same name as the original file with the addition of "~RFf1eba.TMP" (just an example, its random).  When a sync is performed, Sync Center sees a confilict as if the user had deleted the original file while offline.  If Sync Center is instructed to keep the file, the changes are updated, but the TMP file remains.  I'm happy to provide any information to assist in the solution of this issue.  I've already done hours of troubleshooting and can provide much more detail if requested.

Thanks in advance!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Andrin

Hello

We solved the issue by changing the CIFS symlink-properties from "enable, read-only" to symlinks. The W10 clients had problems with the DFS advertisement. 

https://kb.netapp.com/app/answers/answer_view/a_id/1001512/~/what-is-the-impact-of-a-shares-symlink-settings-and-dfs-advertisement-in

Best regards, Andrin

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10

Andrin

Hello,

Did you resolve this issue? We have the same issue.

Regards, Andrin

drowningadmin