ONTAP Discussions

How to remove ownership from disks and verify afterward on ONTAP 7.0.6

ROOT_XENKU

I'm new to the NetApp seen so bare with me or walk with me for a bit.

At work a FAS 3020 (ONTAP version 7.0.6) was been recently decommissioned and it has 5 x Shelves of 144GB drives and 2 x Shelves of 300GB drives and all information there was moved to other filers/heads. I've already ran "boot_ontap" and then "CTRL+C" for special menu and did "Option 4" to zero all disks.

How can I see disk ownership because I've tried "disk show -v" and it doesn't work for me and I'm also in "priv set advanced" mode:

nameoffiler*> disk show -v

disk: Did not recognize option "show".

usage: disk <options>

Options are:

fail [-i] [-f] <disk_name>  - fail a file system disk

remove [-w] <disk_name>     - remove a spare disk

swap                        - prepare (quiet) bus for swap

unswap                      - undo disk swap and resume service

scrub  { start | stop }     - start or stop disk scrubbing

unfail <disk_name>          - make a failed disk a spare again

replace {start [-f] <disk_name> <spare_disk_name>} | {stop <disk_name>} - replace a file system disk with a spare disk or stop replacing

shm_stats [<disk_name>]     - Storage Health Monitor stats for a disk

zero spares                 - Zero all spare disks

sanitize { start | abort | status | release } - sanitize one or more disks

I've read somewhere else that if "disk show" command doesn't work then software ownership is not enabled/used?

I just want to make sure all disks/shelves are not owned by anything so that I can simply reuse these shelves/disks to be added to another FAS head/filer and when added to the new heads for it to go smoothly and be detected/configured without any problems since these shelves will be added in a production environment.

8 REPLIES 8

scottgelb