ONTAP Discussions

Installing a Simulator

badoemanny

Hi all

I am trying to run the netapp simulator in Ubuntu 8.10. However I'm unable to proceed past "bash setup.sh -z". I keep getting "bash: setup.sh: No such File or Directory". I tried using "../setup.sh" but still no joy.

I have struggled to understand why its doing this and as I am a brand new novice at the is Linux lark, I'm not sure where else to look. Please please please someone please help as I've got my NS0-163 exams coming up in a couple of weeks.

Regards

Manny

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

lrhvidsten

I think Ryan found the most probable cause for your error.

Try these steps at the terminal:

su -

Password: <enter your password here>

cd /media/cdrom

ls

You should see the setup.sh file listed. If not, perhaps the cdrom (or .iso file) didn't mount, so try:

mount /media/cdrom

cd /media/cdrom

ls

Once you've confirmed you're in the /media/cdrom directory and the setup.sh exists, enter:

./setup.sh

If you never can find the setup.sh file after mounting the cdrom or .iso file, you may have a bad image.

The guide Bren mentioned is on the cdrom as well as https://now.netapp.com/NOW/download/tools/simulator/docs/vmware_linux_simulator_installation.pdf and is very helpful. Another resource I suggest looking at is "Installing the Netapp simulator 7.3" at:

http://tendam.wordpress.com/documents/

View solution in original post

16 REPLIES 16

BrendonHiggins

Sorry I am not great with Linux.  I have built a couple of different simulators and have found it best to use the software versions and follow the instructions to the letter.  Stay away from the VM Ware host tools as the simulator will work without them.

In an ideal world you should be able to download a VM applicate with the simulator already configured and ready to run.

Bren

ryanstather

Hi Manny,