ONTAP Discussions

Netapp zoning and DR

nasguy2504

Hello , I am new to netapp and would like to  get few clarificaion . 

We are doing a DR test for the customer and the vcenter and Vms will be built at the time of the test , There will 4 ESX hosts to be recovered during the test .The Luns are snapmirrored .

Process would be to break the replication . 

Questios :

1)Can I create one igroup and map all the luns to that Igroup as the ESX hosts need to see all the luns . ?

2)what is the commnd to see from the netapp  the wwpn of the ESX hosts once zoned  ?

3)Also how should I zone the SVM Lifs to the esx host .Appreciate some sample steps . 

Kindy asssit as I am still learning netapp 

thanks 

3 REPLIES 3

J-L-B

Here is a link to the SAN Administration guide for ONTAP 8.3.  You tagged this as ONTAP 8.  Not much has changed between the versions.

https://library.netapp.com/ecm/ecm_download_file/ECMP1636035

Here is a Vmware Vsphere with NetApp guide

https://www.netapp.com/us/media/tr-4597.pdf

How to configure VMware vSphere 6.x on Data ONTAP 8.x    (There are some very import configurations in this)

https://kb.netapp.com/support/s/article/ka31A00000014F7QAI/How-to-configure-VMware-vSphere-6-x-on-Data-ONTAP-8-x?language=en_US

To answer a couple of your questions..

I create one iGroup and put all of my ESX Cluster Host initiators in it.  One iGroup per ESX cluster that shares the storage. 4 Hosts with two HBA ports would have 8 initiators in an iGroup.  This makes sure that all luns mapped to the iGroup have the same LUN ID across each host.  You can create a separate iGroup for each host but then have to manage the LUN IDs individually.

You can use these to see some of the initiator, target, lif, and igroup info.  Go back through the SAN administration guide and follow all best practices. 

cluster::>net int show -vserver <vserverName>     (this will show you the target wwpns of the fcp lifs)