ONTAP Discussions

OSSV realationship

FLEXPODSTORAGE

I had ossv running on a windows 2003 box for a few months, then the site admin decided to uninstall the ossv software. Now after re-installing I cannot get the windows machine to snapvault. When I do a snapvault status on the Windows machine there are no destinations defined. I am new to this product and was wondering if this can be easily repaired. BTW we are using DFM.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

ASHWINPAWARTESL

I am not an expert on OSSV, You can try these steps and see if it helps your situation.

The Open Systems SnapVault database consists of a set of files that contain information about the Open Systems SnapVault relationship between a primary and a secondary storage system.

OSSV agent database backup file :
The database files for an Open Systems SnapVault relationship on the primary storage system are compressed and backed up as a file named .OSSV_DATABASE_BACKUP.

If a file named .OSSV_DATABASE_BACKUP already exists in the directory being backed up, the second and subsequent files to be created follow the naming convention .OSSV_DATABASE_BACKUP_x, where x is an integer used to uniquely identify each file.

Restore (OSSV agent database ):
You can restore the database file by using the snapvault restore command; however, you must include the file name .OSSV_DATABASE_BACKUP in the command.

Example:
To restore the database from a secondary storage system called f840 to a directory \temp\database on the primary storage system, enter the following command:

D:\Program Files\netapp\snapvault\bin>snapvault restore - S f840:/vol/vol0/rel5/.OSSV_DATABASE_BACKUP D:\temp\database

Resynchronize:
Starting with Open Systems SnapVault 2.2, you can use the snapvault start -r command to resynchronize a relationship without having to reinitialize it.

1  Log in to the secondary storage system.

2  On the console, enter the following command to resynchronize a SnapVault relationship: