ONTAP Discussions

Question about MetroCluster plexes

ALFABUSSO

Hi all,

I've been working with NetApp products for several years but have just inherited a stretch MetroCluster installation and have never had experience with them or SyncMirror before.

I've read TR-3548 and have a pretty good insight now but I do have a couple of questions which, if answered, would help me understand what I'm dealing with!

I have a DR test soon and would just like to test standard cluster failover of the controllers.  Having read section 3 on failure handling, my questions are:

1. I know I can do a normal cf takeover at the DR site and have the primary controller failover to the DR site.  As I understand it, a stretch MetroCluster is just like a normal cluster but geographically dispersed. If the cluster failover has happened, what would happen if I then turned off the disk shelves at the original "failed" site?  My understanding is that nothing would happen in terms of data service, the aggregate would continue to be available from the failed over controller and the plex at the DR site, but the aggregate would show as broken because the plexes at the original site have failed.  Is my thinking correct here? It appears to be addressed in section 3.6 of TR-3548 (Rolling Failures) but I want to be sure that I'm getting it right.

2. What would happen if I then powered off the controller at the original "failed" site? My thinking is - nothing else, aside from what has already happened as this would be part of a rolling failure scenario. However, I'm not sure about that.

3. If 2. above is correct, how does that differ from doing (or having to do) a cf forcetakeover - d?