ONTAP Discussions

Self organisation of many files at one location

juerg_maier

Hi

Assume I get 5'000 pictures daily.

I thought to name every pic with a MS NewID() unique identifyer (36 chars) when they get inserted and attached to my app elements.

I would like to store all pics in a common location (lets say a dedicated NetApp system).

NetApp would need to deal over the years with lots of files at that location and retrieval of up to 10 of the pics should be fast all the time, also for pics added in the past.

Will I need some kind of logic added (maintain a service using an index, store files into folder structures) or will NetApp handle this fairly well on its own?

Thanks

Juerg

5 REPLIES 5

ccolht

I'm kind of new to NetApp but this doesn't seem like the kind of solution a filer can provide. The filer either provides raw disk (lun) or a file system. Nothing in NFS or CIFS natively does this without software support. Where I've seen systems that work like this they use either a database of metadata to store locations of groups of files or some kind of hashing function to keep like files together. If a group of files will only be part of one group, they can be crammed together into one 'super' file with some kind of delimiting so reads and writes are for one file. The app would then have to manipulate the super file for access to individual elements. Not very flexible but it can save lots of opens. Hashing would seem like the best bet for quickly finding files. This would require a naming convention that keys into the hash. Using a database would alow the most flexibility since you can build queries on the metadata stored for each file. All this happens above the storage so it wouldn't matter what kind of disk you had as long as it was optimal for the type of db/file system you need.