2009-12-11 07:05 AM
I have added a snapshot outside of the normal scheduled ones. Will this snapshot ever get deleted or purged by the system? I plan on moving the snapshot to tape one day when they decide to purchase a license! But this day may never come!
Data ONTAP 18.104.22.168P2
2009-12-11 07:59 AM
It depends on whether you have snap autodelete on or off, and the policy you have set there, also will depend on the volume options try_first is set to.
I think the default is to autodelete at >80% and it will delete scheduled snapshots first and then user created last.
You can either turn of snap autodelete and set it to volume autogrow.
If you just need a copy of the volume you could mount the snapshot and copy the data out that way.