ONTAP Discussions

Understanding NetApp Networks and Spare drives.

RAJIV_NAIR

Hello Guys,

I am new to NetApp and would need your assistance in understanding few basics of NetApp :

1. Networking:

Eg. There are 4 network adapters in NetApp - e0a; e0b; e0c and e0d.

During the initiazation of the NetApp, I only assigned the value to e0a (say 192.168.1.3).

Now I need to team the rest of the network adapters and have a common IP (say 192.168.1.3).

How would we be able to do it ?

2. Spare Drives:

Eg. Suppose I have 10 drives in my aggr. Raid configured is RAID DP - therefore I have 1 drive for DP, 1 for Parity; 7 for Data and one Spare drive.

only 20% of the space is used.

Now one drive fails, the data is reconstructed on the spare drive... Now reconstruction got over successfully, however, the failed drive was not replaced with a new drive and during the meantime, one more drive failed... so what would be the status of the data now ???

-Rajiv

5 REPLIES 5

HARI_KRISHNA981

Hi Rajiv,

For networking configuration see the attached file " network management guide "

For the complete explanation of  Raid DP, refer the thread below

https://communities.netapp.com/docs/DOC-12850

Regards,

Hari.

RAJIV_NAIR

Hello Hari,

Thank you for your reply.

1. Could you plz share the link to the network management guide for my reference.

2. I have gone through the document about RAID DP, however, it does not answer my query

Eg. Suppose I have 9 drives in my aggr. Raid configured is RAID DP - therefore we have 1 drive for DP, 1 for Parity and 7 for Data. We have one Spare drive.

Consider only 20% of the total data space is used.

All I want to know is what would be the status of the data now ??? 1. Data inaccessable; 2. Data accessable but with degraded performance; 3. Data accessable and no issue with performance OR would it be some other case ???

-Rajiv

HARI_KRISHNA981

1. Could you plz share the link to the network management guide for my reference.