ONTAP Discussions

VIF creation on static interface

f0rest

HI ,

I am new in netapp.

I want to create vlan on my storage .I have only two interface available .

FAS2020

NetApp Release 7.3.7P3

e0a: flags=0x2d48867<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST,TCPCKSUM> mtu 1500
        inet 150.236.127.122 netmask-or-prefix 0xffffffe0 broadcast 150.236.127.127
        partner inet 150.236.127.117 (not in use)
        ether 00:a0:98:11:db:1c (auto-100tx-fd-up) flowcontrol full
e0b: flags=0x2d48867<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST,TCPCKSUM> mtu 1500
        inet 150.236.127.203 netmask-or-prefix 0xffffffe0 broadcast 150.236.127.223
        partner inet 150.236.127.202 (not in use)
        ether 00:a0:98:11:db:1d (auto-1000t-fd-up) flowcontrol full
lo: flags=0x1948049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST,TCPCKSUM> mtu 8160
        inet 127.0.0.1 netmask-or-prefix 0xff000000 broadcast 127.0.0.1
        ether 00:00:00:00:00:00 (VIA Provider)

Is it possible to create vif on one (e0b interface) or i need to use both e0a and e0b. How to create vif on running interface.

e0a is a 100mpbs interface and e0b is 1000mpbs.

1 REPLY 1

bobshouseofcards

Hi f0rest -

While technically possible to crete a VIF with just one interface, the obvious question is why?  You mentioned you are new to NetApp - here's a very generic overview of NetApp VIFs.  

A VIF (literally Virtual InterFace, aka interface group or ifgrp) is a logical network port built on top of physical network port(s) or other VIFs.  VIFs allow creation of amplified capability - port failover, increased total bandwidth at a single logical endpoint, etc.