2014-09-11 01:45 AM
So I have a weird problem.
I have a couple volumes that lost their snapvault snapshot (I blame DFM) but regardless I need to re-establish a baseline and get backups working again.
I have taken DFM out of the picture and deleted any acs or snapvault snapshots in the original volumes.
I will start a snapvault transfer with
snapvault start -S filer04:/vol/vmdsTrimSQL/qtree /vol/SMVI_TrimSQL/qtree
if I look at the status I will see
|filer04:/vol/vmdsTrimSQL/qtree||filervault:/vol/SMVI_TrimSQL/qtree||Uninitialized||- Transferring (89 MB done)|
It looks like it is working, but creates a second volume called SMVIxTrimSQL_backup_filer04_vmdsTrimSQL Where does it even get this name? I was thinking DFM but these volumes have been removed from every dataset and I'm performing this directly from the command line!
If after the transfer is complete, I place this new volume offline and run an update with:
snapvault update /vol/SMVI_TrimSQL/qtree
If I look at the status I will see
|filervault:/vol/SMVIxTrimSQL_backup_filer04_vmdsTrimSQL_1/qtree||Uninitialized - ||Transferring (9760 MB done)|
It seems intent on creating a second volume with that name template!
Any idea why?