EF & E-Series, SANtricity, and Related Plug-ins

Upgrade controller firmware on E2624 without any disks installed

APL

I power on the unit and the controllers go through their process until everything has settled down. At this point I want to connect to the device but I can't find it or ping it on 192.168.128.101 or 192.168.128.102. Looking at the front there are no amber lights, however all 24 drives are solid green. Looking at the rear there are green lights on the PSUs but the code LH is displayed on both controllers.

I looked up the code and it says it's a 'controller firmware mismatch' and it would be suspended. I tried both controllers in the controller A slot on their own and the same issue. I also tried the unit with DHCP on the network and nothing.

I'm new to NetApp and without being able to connect via TCP/IP how can I update the firmware? There is a PS2 port on both controllers for what I assume is a serial connection, can I use this?

4 REPLIES 4

MikeSamples

To gain access you need to use the right IP address.    By default you are using the correct IP address for port 1 on both controllers.    Port 2 on uses the 129 network.     192.168.129.101/102.       Now a wierd behavior is that you have to have an active network connection for 3mins before that IP address will respond.    SO plugin your network port...   Setup a ping and wait 3 - 5mins for it to respond.      If you are using the correct IP address it will start working.       

Now if someone has changed the IP address for all the ports you will need the Serial cable that plugs into that PS2 port.     From there you can run some commands to reset the IP address.   (netCfgSet)

Mike

@APL wrote: