ONTAP Hardware

FAS 2240 direct attached 10 GB to esx

HEADCOACH2001

Hi there,

i am a newbie in configuration a Netapp. But i have a Problem and i hope some can help me.

We have the following Hardware:

1 Netapp FAS 2240-2 with 24 sas disk and an additional shef with 12 sata disk.

2. Two HP Server as VMWare ESX 5.5

The Netapp and the HP Server had both 10Gb SFP Interface Cards and where direct attached with out a Switch.

We did the following config for Hosts and rc see attachment

And on the esx we but on the two Server the two 10Gb + 2 1GB on 1 Switch. But it is not working i can not see the volumes.

We have created two aggregates one on the SAS Shelf with two volumes and on Aggregate on the SATA Shelf with one volume.

So at the Moment we are not able to Mount the volumes as nfs. So can some help me please or explai me were i have made a mistake.

Thanks in advance

Peter

4 REPLIES 4

CHRISMAKI

Peter,

Direct attached is not ideal, but it should work. Does the links come up? If not, flip your tx/rx on one end. The next question is how is everything cabled?

*****Section 1*********

For both hosts to see both volumes, you'll need either HP server cabled to both controllers. I'm assuming you have SAS shelf owned by one controller and the SATA by the other, correct? Lets assume that SAS is owned by STOR1A and SATA is owned by STOR1B and is cabled as follows:

stor1a:e1a -> server1:eth0

stor1a:e1b -> server2:eth0

stor1b:e1a -> server1:eth1

stor1b:e1b -> server2:eth1

ESX on server 1 would then have access two two data stores on stor1a via 192.168.2.12 and one datastore on stor1b via 192.168.2.22.

ESX on server 2 would have access to the same data stores, but the two SAS ones would be via 192.168.2.13 and the SATA one would be via 192.168.2.23.

****Section 2******