ONTAP Hardware

Not enough spare disk

DBARAJAS123

A hard drive failed and we replaced it with, but we continue to get:

"There are not enough spare disks. /aggr3/plex0/rg0: Please add spare disks supporting block checksums with minimum size: Used 4"

When it was placed in the the netapp, the disk had a bad label, which I unfailed it and then zero'd it.

I'm fairly new to this, any suggestions would be helpful.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

jeras

Correct.  There needs to be at least 1 450GB 15K FC disk in the system as a spare, so one of the other spares would need to be replaced with a 450GB 15K FC drive.

Glad to help!

Ken

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12

jeras

The specific RAID group listed in the error message (/aggr3/plex0/rg0) is the key to the message.  In looking at the sysconfig -r output that you supplied, that RAID group has 15K 450GB disks in it and there are no 450GB 15K disks in your spares pool that are listed at the bottom of the sysconfig -r output that you posted here.  If you do have spare 450GB 15K disks in the system, you may want to check the output of the disk show -n command to see if those disks are not assigned to be owned by this particular controller.  If the spare 450GB disks are not assigned, you'll need to assign ownership to those disks with the disk assign command.

Ken

DBARAJAS123

Thanks for the reply. I'm not able to run disk show -n could be related to the version we are using 7.3.3. I checked managed disk - Unowned disks and empty. What would you suggest?

jeras

What's the FAS model for your controllers?  Software disk ownership was introduced with the FAS3020/FAS3050 models and dates back to at least Data ONTAP 7.1, so the disk show command is available in Data ONTAP 7.3.3.   What is the message you receive when you enter the disk show -n command?

Ken

DBARAJAS123

This is the message I get:

netapp1*> disk show -n

disk: Did not recognize option "show".

usage: disk <options>

Options are: