ONTAP Hardware

RAID Groups

johnpower

Hi All

I'm a bit of a newbie to V-Series.

Can we create RAID groups of only 1 Lun each and then use all the RAID groups to create an aggregate? The reason I ask is that we have luns of varying sizes ranging from 100GB to 400GB in size on an existing storage array (all in separate array raid groups) and I am looking at creating a large aggregate of around 2TB without having to re-org the whole of the storage array.

Am I better creating multiple RAID groups of same size disks?

What are the down sides of doing this?

TIA

JP

4 REPLIES 4

radek_kubka

Hi,

Have a look at this doc:

http://www.netapp.com/us/library/technical-reports/tr-3461.html

Three things from there:

- Data ONTAP uses RAID 0 to stripe across the array LUNs, which splits data evenly across two or more array LUNs

- The best practice is not to span the aggregate across multiple arrays.

- Each V-Series controller has a maximum capacity and a maximum number of LUNs it can support. Using small-sized LUNs will result in a V-Series system reaching its LUN count limit before reaching its capacity limit

So the answer to your actual question is yes, you can use existing LUNs (providing they are of the same type, say FC), but be wary of the 3rd bullet point above.

Regards,
Radek

johnpower

Thanks Radek I had read that and the planning and setup guides for V-Series and although they are helpful they do seem to assume that you are starting with a greenfield storage array.

Also the planning guide does mention using single luns in an aggregate but then the Best Practice says create RAID Groups with 2 or more luns and then the setup guide says when you create an aggregate you must use at least 2 Luns. See beow.

ndisks[@disk-size]
ndisks is the number of array LUNs to use. The value must be
at least 2.

It is maddeningly confusing to say the least. I get the impression that no-one really knows.

Cheers

John

radek_kubka

Hi John,