ONTAP Hardware

RAID optiones and capacity?

HasayeretFMG

Good morning!

My FAS2220 has 12 1.62TB disks (According to the System Manager). I'm totally new to NetApp and we need to re-do the entire device.
My question are: What are my RAID options and with these RAID options, how much TB I'll have once RAIDed?

Thanks so much!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Alfs29

Kinda not very good config if you have only 12 drives .... but i would not suggest to YOU to reinstall system .... 

Are those aggregates raid-dp or raid-4? Do you have spares for each controller?

I would configure 12 drives as:

1) contr1 - 3 drives = raid-4 + hs (1 aggregate and 1 volume (root))

2) contr2 - 9 drives = raid-dp + hs (1 aggregate and 2 volumes (root, data)) ->  ~ 6x 1.62TB and deduct some for root volume

No, you cannot reconfigure without reinstall. 

Write down somewhere all licence keys from both controllers .... just in case

I hope your question about size and raid options is answered? 😉

View solution in original post

17 REPLIES 17

Alfs29

Hi,

There are no 1.62TB drives ... those probably are 2TB drives 🙂

Do you have 1 or 2 controllers?

What version of ontap are you running?

Do you have "necessary" licences?

Lets assume you have 1 controller.

In general you could go 2 ways.

1) Have separate aggregates for root and data. It means raid4 (2 drives) for root + raid4 (9 drives) for data + 1hs.

Normally you dont put any data on root aggregate. So you will have 8 data drives+1parity = 8 x 1.62TB is what you get.

Not very good idea to have raid4 and only 1 hs.

2) Make one aggregate dp from 11drives + 1hs -> 9 data drives and have all volumes on one aggregate. This is much better/safer config for small spindle count installs.

If you have 2 controllers, then you will loose 3 drives on controller1 (root volume, raid4+1hs). On remaining 9 drives you have same situation as described in 1controller situation.