ONTAP Hardware

newbie questions re FAS2040

dclark_uk

Hello, we have just had a FAS204 installed and I have a few questions. I'm completely new to Netapp devices so please bear with me!!

Our FAS2040 has 2 filers and 2 shelves, 1 for SATA and one for SAS. We have 24 x 600 SAS and 12 x 1tb SATA.

1) Is  the FAS2040 truly active/active in that both controllers can read/write to a LUN concurrently or is it active/active as each controller can manage I/O to a LUN but only 1 controller can "own" a LUN at any time?

2) How can I best allocate the disks?

The 2040 has come pre configured from Netapp with root on aggr 0 taking 3 SATA disks per filer, so that now takes us down to 6 SATA remaining. I guess out of those I need to leave 2 as spares so we now have 4 remaining. With RAID-DP I'm looking at a really small useable size - any ideas how I could configure this better?

Perhaps I could move the root to SAS disks?

Thanks

1 REPLY 1

brendanheading

First off, welcome to the forums. Plenty of experts here. I got into NetApp about a year ago, but feel duty bound to pass on my knowledge. E&OE ..

Firstly, when you say "two filers" do you mean two physical 2040 boxes, or one 2040 with two controllers inside ? I think you mean the latter but it helps to be clear.