FlexPod Discussions

Understanding NAS with Flexpod

Sir-Loin-of-Beef

As a new user of Flexpod I have discovered that the FAS can run as both a SAN & NAS. How is this possible? NAS is nothing more than a bunch of disks in a RAID, shared out on a network (VLAN'ed, of course). NAS has none of the SANs redundacny or resiliancy, or does it in Flexpod?

Can someone please help explain this? I have a SAP implimentation that recommends NAS and that makes zero sense to me.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Sir-Loin-of-Beef

Thanks. That helps a great deal. I've been working on SAN/NAS for over ten years but I have very little experience with NetApp. I still don't understand why anyone would want to use NAS for a DB application.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

SeanHatfield

ONTAP provides storage services over a variety of protocols, both SAN and NAS. SAN can be FC, FCoE, or iSCSI.  It can also provide file services over NFS and CIFS.   The same FAS that provides FCoE boot luns to UCS, can provide NFS datastores to VMware or SMBv3 storage to Hyper-V, and iSCSI to a guest directly, along with general file services to clients on the network wether they favor CIFS with NTFS permissions, NFS with unix permisions, or even both, just to throw out some examples.  The underlying storage system is resilient regardless of the protocol.  

If this post resolved your issue, help others by selecting ACCEPT AS SOLUTION or adding a KUDO.

Sir-Loin-of-Beef

So NAS gains the same benefits as a SAN?

SeanHatfield

Each protocol has pros and cons depending on the use case, but with ONTAP you can leverage whichever one is most advantageous for your scenario.

If this post resolved your issue, help others by selecting ACCEPT AS SOLUTION or adding a KUDO.

AlexDawson

ONTAP aggregates are collections of disks in RAID groups.

From that point, you can either create volumes in your aggregates for NAS use (CIFS-SMB/NFS) or create LUNs in them for SAN use (FC/FCoE/iSCSI), or both.