Corner Cube: The Journey from Wall Street to Silicon Valley with Shaun Mahoney

Wall ST

Meghan Fintland of NetApp’s Corporate Communications team sat down with Shaun Mahoney, Americas Director of Technology & Strategy, for another Corner Cube interview. The Corner Cube is a series of interviews and feature posts that highlight the people of NetApp, bringing you an unfiltered point of view from an engineer or executive leader on a variety of topics in technology and business today. In this post, Shaun discusses his experience on Wall Street, what attracted him to NetApp, and what’s next for the company, its customers and the financial services industry.

Can you tell us about your career before joining NetApp and what inspired you to get into the financial services industry?

While I started my career as a project engineer, most of my background is in financial services IT. Before joining NetApp almost a decade ago, I spent 15 years working with large financial institutions including AIG, BlackRock, Citi, and JP Morgan Chase. I lived and went to school in New York, so a career in financial services was a natural choice for me. Everything else was second-tier.

Shaun Mahoney NetAppHaving a successful career on Wall Street, what attracted you to NetApp?

I’ve worked with a number of IT tech firms, but nothing compared to the partnership I had with NetApp during my time at Citi. I built strong relationships with executives and engineering teams, achieving tremendous success with the NetApp SnapLock solution solving bank compliance challenges and also achieving significant file server consolidation for Windows file shares. My previous experience as a customer now helps me ensure a good balance between customer visits, spending time with partners, and working with product operations, marketing and sales teams.