Microsoft Virtualization Discussions

Discover serial numbers using a script.

JESSENERICKT

Need some expert advice as I am new to NetApp. I'd like to be able to create some type of script that will go out and retrieve the serial numbers on all of my controllers and disk shelves for asset management purposes. Is this possible and if so what’s the best way to accomplish this? Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

9 REPLIES 9

AGUMADAVALLI

on the now.netapp.com, use the "my autosupport" filter with company name, it will populate all the serials, models and many more information.

cut and paste into the excel sheet - Easy to use.

Thank you,

AK G

AGUMADAVALLI

or use the system manager which help you capture all the serials on the first screen itself. No need of a script please.

thank you,

AK G

JESSENERICKT

Thanks for the suggestions however I'm looking for a little more. We would like to run a script once a month against all of our filers (We have many of them spread out all over the place) that will pull both the controller serial number AND the shelf serial numbers which would then export this information into a database.

AGUMADAVALLI

use the powershell to write the scripts, it will get you what ever you are speaking but it will take at least 2 to 4 hours to script it.

thank you,

AK G

JGPSHNTAP

You gotta give us a little here. Do you have Powershell experience?  Do you know how to connect to filers via powershell?

Do you have ONtap powershell module installed? 

JESSENERICKT