Microsoft Virtualization Discussions

Get-NaNFSExport not returning correct SecurityRules

JACOB_WILLIAMS

Is there a list available somewhere that details which commandlets provided by the Powershell toolkit are complete?  I know that there isn't 100% coverage for the entire API, however I'm trying to put something together to manage NFS exports for VMWare ESXi and the results that I'm getting are not what I expected.  I'm new to using the toolkit, but not to powershell.

I'm attempting to run the toolkit against a FAS3210 running DOT 8.0.2P3 7-Mode.

At this stage I'm attempting to simply get information about the existing NFS exports, in a manner that I can use for generating reports on configuration consistency.  The commandelt Get-NaNFSExport is not returning the security rules correctly.  Get-NaNFSExport is returning that ReadWrite has the value all-hosts and Root is not showing any value.  The actual configuration is that ReadWrite and root are both set to the same list of IP addresses.

1) Is this normal behaviour for this commandlet?

2) Is this normal for the combination of the version of DOT that we run and the operation of this commandlet?

3) Is there a list somewhere that I can see which commandlets are 100% complete and which are only partially complete?

Thanks,

Jacob

4 REPLIES 4

beam

Hi Jacob,

All of the cmdlets included in the toolkit are complete.  Many of the cmdlets, including Get-NaNfsExport, return data directly from Data ONTAP APIs.

1) The cmdlet by default returns the exports loaded into memory.  You can use the -Persistent switch to see the entries from /etc/exports:

PS C:\Users\Administrator> help Get-NaNfsExport -Parameter Persistent

-Persistent

Default value is false. If specified, the export entries that are present in the /etc/exports file are returned;

otherwise, those loaded in memory are returned. This parameter is ignored if the Path parameter is provided.

Required?                    false