Subscribe
Accepted Solution

toolkit output questions

First, I am very new to PowerShell and the toolkit.

When I use some commandlets in a shell I get blank lines for output.

such as when I put in Get-NaSystemOntapiVersion

Tried piping it to foreach and then assigning the variable I wanted, in this case MajorVersion and MinorVersion but I still get nothing

Obviously I am missing something.

Can someone explain in plain language (as opposed to powershell speak) what that might be ?

thanks!

Re: toolkit output questions

I figured out the foreach part, but not why it would not list things without using the foreach

Could you post an example from importing the module to the Get-NaSystemOntapi cmdlet?  Something like this:

PS C:\> ipmo dataontap

PS C:\> Connect-NaController 10.61.169.28

Name                 Address           Ontapi   Version

----                 -------           ------   -------

10.61.169.28         10.61.169.28      1.13     NetApp Release 8.0.1 7-Mode: Wed Jan  5 17:24:41 PST 2011

PS C:\> Get-NaSystemOntapiVersion

MajorVersion                            MinorVersion NodeOntapiDetails

------------                            ------------ -----------------

1                                      13 {fas2040rre1}

Thanks!

Hi Eric,

Here is the relevant part of the ps script

Import-module DataOnTap

$NetappList=("Controller-1","Controller-2")

$cred = "appropriate definition of $cred here"

foreach ($netapp in $NetappList) {   

Connect-nacontroller -credential $cred $netapp | select Name,Address

Get-NaSystemOntapiVersion

}  # End netapplist foreach

When I run these commands from the command line the output is what you show

thanks!