Network and Storage Protocols

How to set default file permissions on a CIFS share?

EGDEMATTIA

Hello all!  I'm new here and new to NetApp administration.

We recently purchased a NetApp FAS3240 with ONTAP 8 and have been configuring several CIFS share volumes.  I configured the share to use NTFS security permissions and set the ACLs to allow Everyone read access, Administrators full control and Domain Users read/write access. When I map the drive in Windows and check the permissions on the mapping, it shows Everyone has full control and nothing else.  When new files are coppied to the share, those files also only show Everyone with full control.

How do I configure the share to force all new files to inherit the defined permissions that I listed above?

Sorry if my nomenclature is incorrect.  I'm still new to NetApp!

Thanks!!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

scottgelb

NTFS ACLS on files are all managed from a host not on the netapp side.. just the share level permission on the netapp, then all file/dir ACLs are all modified from the host.  It should look the same as if it were a windows server just not modified on the server itself in this case.  You should be able to set the ACL the way you want it to inherit down.

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10

scottgelb

When you create a share the default is everyone full control but sounds like you are modifying at the share level there...but the question sounds like permissions on the folders/files... those are the same as any windows server.. check if inherited permissions at the top level if that is what you want.

EGDEMATTIA

The top level would be the share itself in this situation.  So as Administrator are you saying I have to define the ACL's on each host mapping the share?