2013-04-23 01:35 AM
Got this situation: a sensitive file was left on a share accessible to anyone in the company. I don't know for how long, but we keep our monthly snapshots for 180 days, so let's assume the worst.
My question is, how do I erase this file from the snapshots, so the users cannot recover the file via previous versions?
2013-04-23 02:41 AM
it's a vFiler with CIFS shares with almost 3TB dataspace (after dedub), kinda annoying removing snapshots and the possibility for users to restore previous versions. Guess I need to make a clone of the volume and switch it with the current volume (so I can still access the snapshots of the original volume in case a restore is needed).
2013-04-23 06:39 AM
The snapshot is always read-only, you can't modify the snpashot file. you have only option to delete the snapshot not the single file of snapshot.