Network and Storage Protocols

Sharing a CIFS or NFS LUN

ASHISH_VERMA

Hello guys,

I am new to NAS environment ( NETAPP).

I want to know the procedure of how a LUN can be shared between 2 or more servers through NFS & CIFS. Also, is it possible to specify the server IPs and the users on those IPs who can access that particular shared LUN and if YES then what would be the procedure to do it .

13 REPLIES 13

ken_foster

you don't share a LUN with cifs or nfs.  LUN is SAN, CIFS/NFS are NAS.  Two completely different things.

LUNs are typically mounted to one server and have the characteristics of an internal hard drive.  so you could mount a LUN to a unix box and then share it out with SaMBa.

or

i think you really want to do is create a volume, and share it out with both NFS and CIFS.  that you can do.  so just add the volume to your /etc/exports, and then use the cifs shares command and share it out with CIFs.    or use system manager and do it all in the gui.

SUDHEER_H21

If you want to write to a LUN using a NAS protocol, you must take the LUN offline or unmap it to prevent an iSCSI or FCP host from overwriting data in the LUN. Remember, a LUN cannot be extended or truncated using NFS or CIFS protocols. If you want read access, the LUN can remain online. If you want write access, ensure that the LUN is offline or unmapped. Hit command: " lun share lun_path {none|read|write|all} "

Example

lun share /vol/vol1/qtree1/lun2 read

(The LUN is now readable over NAS).

ken_foster

i think you misunderstood that command.  you can NOT access the contents of a LUN via NAS protocols that way.  the LUN share command gives you access to the file that makes up the LUN, not the contents of the LUN.

a LUN must be mounted via a SAN protocol to accessible.

this information is continued here.

https://communities.netapp.com/thread/3779

a quick search in the docs, or in the community, on the lun share command will help you understand it.

scottgelb