Network and Storage Protocols

iSCSI NTFS Volume Corruption

TOMFISK20

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to NetApp and this is my first post of the forums, so I hope that my question has been posted in the correct area and I don't sound too much of a noob .

Anyway, we have recently had a 2 node NetApp FAS2020 SAN installed with its primary use being as a repository for all files in our DMS (Document Management System) however I have had a few issues with file corruptions occurring.

Prior to the SAN being installed, we were using a Marathon EverRun HA solution on Windows Server 2003 with the DMS documents being stored on direct attached storage, this solution worked OK for around 3 years with no issues, until we started to run out of space hence the SAN.

The SAN has been connected to the Marathon environment via iSCSI and a volume has been created of 1.89TB in size, all files have been copied from the DAS to the SAN and all appeared to be working fairly well.  However, we ran into an issue where all switches used for the iSCSI rebooted (this was caused by a bug in the firmware installed on the switches) and due to the iSCSI Initiator not reconnecting cleanly until the server was rebooted we encountered a number of corrupt files and were required to run CHKDSK on the volume to resolve the problems.  This appeared to complete successfully, and new files have been written successfully.

We're now in the situation a few weeks after this incident where the event log is reporting (Source: Ntfs  Event ID: 55) that the disk structure is corrupt and that CHKDSK needs to be run which is slightly concerning!

We have around 946GB of the 1.89TB used with approximately 22 million files stored on the volume.

Does anyone have any suggestions on what the cause of this problem may be?

Thanks

Tom

1 REPLY 1

TYSONINSEATTLE

Hi Tom,