Subscribe

windows permissions are not kept when restore CIFS files back from snapshots

  1. I've noticed that when we restore CIFS files back from snapshots the windows permissions are not being restored that are listed in the snapshots unless restored into an existing directory - if we restore a deleted directory or move it to a new location for a restore the permissions are not being kept on that restore.  I've tried copying the files back with robocopy also using various switches like /B and /COPYALL and  /COPYSmiley Very HappyATSOU but its still the same when moved to a new location - windows permissions are not kept - is there a way around this ?