Active IQ Unified Manager Discussions

How to configure DFM so as to discover the netapp storages?

IVY_YANGXIAOHUA

hi,

i am a newbie of netapp. I have a question about DFM.

I downloaded dfmsetup-4-0-2-win32 and nmconsole-setup-3-0-2-win32.  and  I installed them on my VM(windows2008, the IP is 10.73.203.XX) successfully.

I can log in http://10.73.203.XX:8080/ with my domain account to browse the operation manager;

I can also log in NetApp Management Console 3.0.2 via my domain account.

but the issue is that there is no data, no storage found yet.

The IP network of my storage is 10.73.202.XX; and the BMC IP of my storage is 10.74.240.XX.

as per the DMF doc,  no configuration needed. the DFM will auto-discovery the filer within a few minutes if the network allows it.

but currently I can't get answer if I ping the storage IP 10.73.202.XX or the BMC IP 10.74.240.XX from the windows server.

this is a network zone with strict network security rules.  The permissions are allowed on demand.

what am supposed to do? I mean do I need to open ports? if yes, which ports do I need to open then the DFM can discover the storage filer?

there are ports  what I got from the DFM doc. but I am not sure whether they are enough.

ssh 22(ssh), 80(http), 443(https),10000(ntdmp ), 514(rsh)

Please help point the right direction.  thanks in advance!

16 REPLIES 16

arunchak

Hi,

Can you check whether windows firewall is enabled on your win2k8 server?

You should be able to ping the storage from DFM server. Also try resolving your storage system from the DFM server.

Once ping works fine, You can as well add your storage system to DFM using the following command "dfm host add <storage system ip>"

and set the credentials for the storage system using "dfm host set <storage system ip> hostLogin=<user name> hostPassword=<password>"

Thanks,

Arun

pukale

You can add storage using NMC. In NMC, under provisioning and protection dashboard,   Click on " Hosts-> Storage Systems"