Active IQ Unified Manager Discussions

How to upgarde the DFM Version from 4.0.1. to 5.2

siddhartha_boda

Hi Adai,

I got some question for you. I am new to this DFM and i want to upgrade my current version to 5.2 from 4.0.1 and do i need to follow any particular steps to this like can i jump straight to 5.2 from 4.0.1 or i need to go for any intermediate steps in between to do this  ? i need to know the procedure for both  in place and out place DFM upgrade.

Please kindly advise on this. as well as i got an other issue too on my current DFM alert management for inodes. i did create a custom report to generate an alert on my DFM to trigger the event when volume run out of inodes though i can see the message popping on my filer when inodes become full i did this manually by testing on test volume created but i dont receive any email alert or sms alert which i tried to confiure on my current DFM settings.

i do need your advise on this too.

Thanks

Siddartha

6 REPLIES 6

kryan

Hi Siddartha,

To upgrade from 4.0.1 to 5.2 I recommend that you create a backup (also if running on a VM, stop the DFM services and create a VM snapshot), upgrade to 5.0.2 to prune any excess performance data (bug 439756), then after another backup, upgrade to UM 5.2. 

Be aware of the following:

1) As of UM 5.1 (and higher) you will need to choose a mode upon install/upgrade - either 7DOT or cDOT.  The choice will indicate the mode of controllers that UM server can manage. 

2) 5.2 is 64 bit software only

3) Due to the database pruning process that occurs upon the 5.2 upgrade or db backup restore the time to complete will potentially be much longer than previous upgrades/restores.

As always, I recommend that you test this process in a sandbox environment prior to performing it on the production server.

As to the inodes question, I am not certain of the exact question but am hoping these KBs might be of assistance:

DFM: How to create a report on volume inode utilization