Active IQ Unified Manager Discussions

Ops Manager - Tiered reporting groups?

collieritops

Hi,

I'm very new to Operations Manager...but what I'd like to do is create a Tiered Structure in groups for reporting purposes. So, for example...under Global I would have a sub-group for each Division, and under each division I would have a sub-group for that divisions departments. At the department group level, I could create further sub-groups for their specific applications. So the group structure would be Division -> Department -> Departmental Apps. Then, I figured I would assign volumes, LUNs, qtrees, resources, etc to the lowest levels. Once I had all the resoures assigned at the lowest level, I was hoping it would automatically tie to the upper levels. So, if I defined which resources are assigned to all the departments in a division, and then ran a report against the Division group, it would be an aggregate of all the department groups automatically.

Does or can it work this way? If not and I wanted to report on all those levels, would it then be necessary to assign the same resource to all three groups? I hope not..that would seem like a lot of overhead.

I hope I explained this clearly enough....

Respectfully,

-Brian

4 REPLIES 4

RichardSopp

Hi Brian,

Tiered structures is definitely something that Operations Manager can deal with and roll up reports as you requested. The trick when constructing the reports is to ensure you configure the report to include the sub-groups.

I've been working with Operations Manager for over six years in this manner.

I just hope your organization is not too large and subsequent to constant re-orgs otherwise you will have a full time job restructuring Operations Manager

Richard

collieritops

Thanks Richard! I'm glad to hear this is possible.