Active IQ Unified Manager Discussions

Pirate V2.0 and vCenter 5.1

Mathias_Robichon

Hi folk and thank a lot for this terrific software.

I'm trying to use WFA 2.0, vCenter 5.1 (VSC 4.1 is installed on) and Pirate V2.0 in order to provision VMFS datastore. I encounter some problems.

First of all, vCenter isn't registred in "Data sources" because of 5.1 isn't supported yet. Nevertheless, Pirate Pack 2.0 could support it, I'm right ?

Secondly, when I'm executing "VMware FCP Datastore" Workflow, the wizard is asking some inputs :

I'm not able to fill "vCenter IP" and "ESX Cluster Name". I guess the wizard suggest me some inputs but there is nothing, vCenter isn't registred (I'm in 5.1). Where WFA could find out about vCenter credentials ? How it could work ?

Finally, whether I bypass these fields by modifying the workflow like this,

I get this error in preview pane when executing.

I'm a newbie with this tool, so I'm really sorry if my questions are basic

Thanks a lot !

Mathias

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

goodrum

You need to install VMware's Powercli Toolkit.  I tested with 5.0 and 5.1 with no issues.  Powercli needs to be installed on the WFA server.

Sorry for the delay, I stopped getting email updates for some reason.

Jeremy Goodrum, NetApp

The Pirate

Twitter: @virtpirate

Blog: www.virtpirate.com

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9

goodrum

Presently, WFA 2.0 does not officially support vCenter 5.x as a datasource.  It works for the most part but your mileage will vary.  We are working on an official update to support 5.x.