Software is eating the world, the developer is king - disrupt or be disrupted

Last week I found myself at a RedMonk developer conference. I was a developer a long time ago and still dabble a bit with Arduino and the RaspberryPi , along with a little C and Python coding. But the days of FORTRAN, COBOL and Various assembly languages are well behind me! So going back into the developer world was a little strange.

But what I found was a very positive group of people devoted to improving the craft and creative reward of developing code. It was interesting that the collective process of design is now being referred to as craft with lots more focus on collaboration and community.

As for the language barrier, I fared better than expected once I'd got my head around the latest development platforms and languages such as PuppetChef, Jenkins and the Chaos Monkey. Confused ? Just follow the links for further information. We worth spending a little time discovering what each of these do, as they feature heavily in Cloud management and development.

The Chaos Monkey is a interesting development. It's is designed to randomly kill instances and services in an AWS Auto Scaling Group (ASG) architecture. Originally developed by the NetFlix Team when porting their applications to AWS. Their engineers recognised that each system has to work, no matter what it is hit with. It has to tolerate failure, even from external systems outside its control. This enables a regime of constant testing that ensures the optimum level of availability is achieved in the Cloud.  It helps you bullet proof your operation. There are a number of Simians available Janitor Monkey, Conformity Monkey - you can see where this is going - The Simian Army. You can also see how this will be necessary in a cloud environment where safety, security and ultimate availability of service are king.