Simulator Discussions

Need help to get license for Simulator 8.2 7-Mode

JUNEWEN2008

Hi,

I need someone to  help me to get license for Simulator 8.2 7-Mode. I am new to NetApp and start to learn it using a newest Simulator 8.2. I have created aggr, volumes, qtree, cifs shares. But I have problem to access the share using the build-in administrator account from the adm host. It never pass the authentication window.

I believe I met the same issue showed in this threads

https://communities.netapp.com/message/110462#110462

Then I found there is no licesen at all.  I suspected this is the cause.

My questions are:

1) Why can I create CIFS share without a CIFS license?

2) How can I get the full licese using on Simulator 8.2? I couldn't find it in the Simulator package or the <Simulate_ONTAP_8.2_Installation_and_Setup_Guide>?

Thanks very much in advance.

netapptest1> version

NetApp Release 8.2 7-Mode: Tue May 21 05:58:22 PDT 2013

netapptest1> license

Serial Number: 4079432-74-8

Owner: netapptest1

No licenses are installed

netapptest1> useradmin user list

Name: root

Info: Default system administrator.

Rid: 0

Groups:

Name: administrator

Info: Built-in account for administering the filer

Rid: 500

Groups: Administrators

netapptest1> rdfile /etc/passwd

root:_J9..kl9wpGwBOb5YQm.:0:1::/:

pcuser::65534:65534::/:

nobody::65535:65535::/:

ftp::65533:65533:FTP Anonymous:/home/ftp:

I did some research from the Internet, seems we have some license code based on the following thread:

https://communities.netapp.com/message/5343.

But it didn't work, I guess it only applied to 7.2.4:

netapptest1> license add DZDACHD

license add: invalid license key "DZDACHD", license keys must be 28 or 42 letters in length.

I also found someone alreadh had the license for 8.2 7-Mode:

https://communities.netapp.com/thread/29846

BTW, I didn't change the serial number so far.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

DINESHJAISANKAR