Simulator Discussions

Way to simulate disk failure and recovery using the simulator

speck1987

Is there a way to simulate disk failure and recovery operations using the simulator?

I am new to using the simulator, but, I want to use the simulator to train other admins on the proper procedures for disk recovery, ha takeover ops, etc...

Thanks

5 REPLIES 5

SeanHatfield

There are commands in the nodeshell to simulate removal and insertion of disks which can be used for some of that.

disk simpush and disk simpull are avilable in the nodeshell in ONTAP or in the 7mode cli. for example:

disk simpull v4.16

disk simpull simulates the hot removal of a drive, which will force a raid rebuild and consuption of a spare disk.  under the covers, it moves it from

/sim/dev/,disks

to

/sim/dev/,disks/,pulled

When you are ready to put it back, you need its name.  You can list all the pulled disks with:

disk simpush -l

It will look something like:

demo1> disk simpush -l

The following pulled disks are available for pushing:
         v1.32:NETAPP__:VD-1000MB-FZ-520:14370813:2104448
         v0.16:NETAPP__:VD-1000MB-FZ-520:11980700:2104448
demo1> 

When you are ready to put it back use its full name on the simpush command:

demo1> disk simpush v0.16:NETAPP__:VD-1000MB-FZ-520:11980700:2104448

The simpull and simpush commands only work on simulators that use file based simulated disks.

If this post resolved your issue, help others by selecting ACCEPT AS SOLUTION or adding a KUDO.

speck1987

Thanks Sean,