Software Development Kit (SDK) and API Discussions

Example: How to use perf-object-get-instances to get specific statistics in Perl

chayashida

I was wrestling with the NetApp Management SDK and Perl, and having lots of problems finding documentation and examples in one place. Since I did all the work, I thought I'd share what I found.

I am a competent Perl programmer, and I learned object-oriented programming (C++) in school, but I was having a lot of problems with the NetApp Manageability SDK. I was able to find a list of APIs and ONTAP APIs on the web site, but didn't have a good starting point.

I wanted to get specific NFS version 3 statistics, but not have the filer return all the information and be forced to parse through all the data. I wanted only the following statistics:

• nfsv3_ops
  • nfsv3_read_latency
  • nfsv3_read_ops
  • nfsv3_write_latency
  • nfsv3_write_ops

From the ONTAP API documentation, I found that perf-objects-get-instances took the following arguments:

Input Name
Type
Description
counterscounter[] optionalList of counters whose values will be retrieved. This element can be used to limit data collection to a specified subset of the counters of instances of the object. If this element is absent, values of all counters will be retrieved.
instancesinstance[] optionalList of the instance names for which to get counter values. This element can be used to limit data collection to a specific subject of the instances of the object. In Data ONTAP 7-Mode, counter values of all instances of the object will be retrieved when this element is absent. In Data ONTAP Cluster-Mode, either instances or instance-uuids input must be provided. The API errors out if both of these inputs are provided or neither of these inputs is provided, or if more than 500 instances are requested.
objectnamestringName of the object to get counter values for.

I was able to get all the data using the invoke() method: