Data, data, data. It’s ALL about Data.

Remember that episode on the Brady Bunch where Jan is jealous because Marsha keeps winning so many awards? “Marsha, Marsha, Marsha!” It was more than Jan could stand. (catch the line here starting at 1:26 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ICVXf8Vznec) Well, this post has nothing to do with the Brady Bunch, except instead of everything being all about Marsha, it’s really all about data.

I was in California a week ago visiting with some friends and they asked what I did for a living. I haven’t always found it easy to describe what I or my company does to someone not in the biz. Start talking about enterprise storage systems, SAN, NAS, replication and deduplication and to most people you have a real snoozer on your hands. (No offense to those who find those terms stimulating). I didn’t have this problem when working in the auto industry. Everyone loves a good car story. But, SCSI (pronounced “scuzzy” J) to most people sounds unappetizing.

Since that weekend, I have been trying to rethink how to describe what I do, or what NetApp Inc. does, to make it interesting at a party or to the passer by at an airport. Being that I have been working in marketing for the last 12+ years, you’d think that it would be easier by now. But, most of the people I am targeting for marketing purposes are customers or prospective customers. Folks who speak geek. The average person is a stranger to the data storage industry. Though this may be true, I realized they’re not strangers to the benefits data storage brings to their lives. And that is where I started from. The conversation all starts with data. And lots of it. And, no, I’m not talking about the Star Trek android character, Data.