Performance Perspectives - “A look behind the curtains at NetApp Performance”

Hello, my name is Dan Chilton, and I am a Solutions Performance Engineer here in the Workload Engineering team at NetApp. You might have run into me on the Flying Through Clouds blog series. We recently wrapped that project up and the technical report is published. 

The Workload Engineering team is starting a new technical blog series to discuss storage performance at NetApp called “Performance Perspectives”.  It will include findings from the Performance Engineering groups at NetApp and give you a look behind the curtains at NetApp performance.   The Performance Engineering teams are certainly focused on developing and testing their respective products. Throughout the entire release cycle, they are regularly evaluating performance through a series of benchmark testing. My team, the Workload Engineering team focus is primarily on solution performance testing.

Our focus includes:

1. Generating and publishing performance benchmark results for all NetApp products and solutions.  For example, last year’s SPECsfs_2008 publication in which the FAS8020 achieved over 110,000 peak SPECsfs_2008 NFS ops.  These exercises accomplish several goals.  Using an industry standard benchmark to drive a huge workload helped us to introduce the FAS8XXX platform and prove that it could perform for NAS workloads.  Behind the scenes the testing takes weeks and weeks of time during which performance bugs are sometimes identified and fixed.  This drives ONTAP and platform performance improvement which pays dividends to our customers by providing a refined, resilient, and most importantly, a well-performing system.