VMware Solutions Discussions

Adding an RDM to the Windows VM and use that to store your shares - how to do this?

PaulSmith09

In another question (link below) I was advised to Add an RDM to the Windows VM and use that to store my shares. Could anyone advise how to get that done? I am a newbie.

http://community.netapp.com/t5/VMware-Solutions-Discussions/Presenting-NetApp-share-to-VMware-that-allows-Windows-file-server-to-further/m-p/120488

3 REPLIES 3

bobshouseofcards

Hi Paul -

If I understand the the situation it is not possible to present an RDM that does what you are trying to do given what you already have - you have to create something different.

An RDM is a LUN presented from storage to the VM hosts, then mapped directly to a VM guest as a single entity, as opposed to presenting the LUN just to the VM hosts and letting the hosts carve out pieces of the LUN as virtual disks.  Both RDMs and traditional VMDKs are just different chunks of disk that the guest controls directly.

What you indicate you have is a volume already shared out via CIFS.  There isn't any way to convert or present that as a LUN directly mounted as an RDM into a VM so it can be re-shared.  That's pretty much the point of virtual disks, whether traditional or RDM mounted to the guest.  The guest OS controls the contents of the the virtual disk.  With a CIFS share another entity is already controlling the content of the "disk" space.

Using the structure you have doesn't seem to make sense for how you want it to be presented.  If you have to maintain the CIFS shares as is and represent as if they are on another server as well, perhaps symbolic links or DFS or similar might be in order.  If all the data currently shared via CIFS is to be reshared, recreating that CIFS share based on your VM is straight forward - just involves copying the information and representing.  However if the existing CIFS share has additional data that needs to be maintained, you'll have to get creative.