VMware Solutions Discussions

Data ONTAP Concepts & Questions

NETAPPORATI

Hi Everyone,

I am new to the NETAPP world, I have a few questions and will have more as I get to learn the product :-), questions are as follows :

My understanding is :

1. Controller = Filer ?
  2. Each Controller is assigned Drives | Drives can be assigned from Different Disk Shelves to One Controller (FILER)?
  3. Each Controller should have a HOT SPARE Disk of Each Type (In-case mix disks (SAS / SATA) are being assigned to one Controller (FILER) ?
  4. Both Controllers (FILERS) Keep a SYNC of each others configuration to take over in-case of a Filer (Controller) Failure ?
  5. Anatomy = RaidGroup > Aggregate > Volumes > Qtrees ?
  6. A RAID Group Cannot SPAN Controllers (Filers), so Aggregates Cannot SPAN Controllers (Filers) either (Assuming two controllers managing ONE NETAPP UNIT with Multiple Shelves ?
  7. Aggregates can SPAN Multiple RAID Groups on the SAME Filer (Controller) ? [In-case, one creates multiple RAIDGROUPS on ONE (1) Filer (Controller)?

Usage : File Shares (windows & Unix) & Email Server Database (Exchange 2010)

So, I assign Filer-1 (Controller-1) 24 Disks from Shelf - 1 and 24 Disks from Shelf  - 2 to Filer (Controller) 2

First we create a Raid Group,

A) Now we will create a RAIDGROUP (rg0) or (rg1) or can I name it (rg<something>), so I create a RAID-DP, 2 Disks for Parity, 1 HOT SPARE Per Controller, Per Disk type, in my case all SAS Disks, so 1 SAS Spare on each Controller (FILER).

B) On top of that RAID Group, I will create an "Aggregate", so now as I have 21 Usable Disks (Space), I will create TWO (2) Aggregates out of these 21 Disks or shall I create one large aggregate ?

C) On top of that Aggregate, we will create VOLUMES, which we will basically use for hosting File shares or Exchange Database or VMWare ?

D) On Top of Volumes, we create "QTrees", QTrees are like Logical partitions as in Windows we have C:, 😧 ?