VMware Solutions Discussions

FAS 3020 - should I get one?

NEEPER671

Hello Community,

I am new to SANs, I want a Netapp SAN that can handle multiple shelfs. My ultimate gola is to have one shelf serve my Xenserver environment and the other as a NAS who will be acting as just expansion space for my servers who are almost out of local space.

I do not need tons of storage, I just need about 500GB for my Xenservers and another 500G for my additional NAS space.

I have a limited budget of about 4K, so I think I can swing an "ebayed" FAS3020 with 2 shelves with 24x300GB drives. This should be sufficient for me, I could always add more shelves.

What are your thoughts, remember my idea of a FAS 3020 could be very incorrerct b/c I am unfamiliar with Netapp devices.

Do you think I can get better for my needs? What ones do you recommend?

Thanks in Advance

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

andrc

The easiest way is to ask them for the output of the CLI commands `version` & `license` but there's no guarantee they're not faking it. If you're buying from an Ebayer seller make sure they've got a good feedback record and from there you just have to trust them. Another site for second hand IT kit is www.brokerbin.com but I think you need to create an account to use it.

Below is a screenshot showing the latest versions of Data Ontap you can currently download:

View solution in original post

13 REPLIES 13

andrc

It's hard to say whether a FAS3020 will be up to the job without knowing your requirements in more detail e.g. number of host/client systems, IOPS etc.

All NetApp filers use Data Ontap and therefore have all the functionality within it provided it's licensed, this is something you'll want to check before you buy. For example in your case you'll need NFS and/or CIFS to be licensed for your NAS data and possibly FCP or iSCSI if you're using those for Xenserver.