VMware Solutions Discussions

FAS2020 vif and vlan design question

radnorsan

Hey all

I wanted to ask this question as I am fairly new to netapp.  We just bought two fas2020s.  They will be used in two seperate buildings as VM storage and CIFS shares.  I'm not concerned about CIFS traffic.  It will be minimal.  VM storage is NFS.  What I'd like to do is segment the IP storage (NFS traffic) in it's own vlan, say vlan 101.  Obviously, I could use e0a for CIFS and e0b for NFS but I feel like I need the NICs for VMware.  So, I'd also like to aggregate the two nics on the filer for both throughut and redundancy.  My issue is how to do this with only the two NICs on the 2020 filer.

What I am thinking (not knowing if it will actually work) is to create vif0 with e0a and e0b.  Then create two secondary vifs, svif0 and svif1.  Then create the vlan with svif0 to get svif0-101.  svif1 will stay in the default vlan to allow me to connect and manage the filer.

Any help is appreciated.

11 REPLIES 11

rkaramchedu1

Yes for the most part.

• Create can create a virtual interface (vif) using e0a and e0b. Depending on the switch capabilities, it can be a lacp vif or a multi mode vif. Both types aggregate the links so you have two links to use (2 x 1Gbps links in the vif)
  • On that vif, you can create a cifs and nfs vlans (if they are indeed  in different vlans). Doing so will result in two vlan specific interfaces that you can then configure with IP addresses etc.

radnorsan

That's what I thought.  My HP switch does support LACP.  I have been testing creating multi mode vifs but I have been having some difficulty.