VMware Solutions Discussions

NetApp Newbie Backup Question

VALLEYDOOFER

Hi everyone,

Please forgive my storage ignorance.  I am from an MS background and this is my first stint in the storage world so please be gentle.

I am currently looking at possible backup solutions for our virtual envrionment running ESX 4.1 hosts, all of which are HP Blades with 2 * HBA's connected to NetApp 6280's via brocade switches.  We have four 6280 controllers ( 2 per data centre) and are replicating volumes between the two (I believe this uses SnapMirror?).  Up until now most servers in the environment have been physical and have used the traditional backup method of deploying a Netbackup agent into the OS and backing up via a Media server to VTL.

Now of course we have these beautiful 6280's and my understanding is that we are licensed to use SMVI, SMSQL, SnapMirror, SnapDrive, SnapVault and Flexclone.  I'm still researching what all these elements offer since I am new to NetApp (and SAN storage in general!).  I have a couple of questions that I'm hoping the community can assist me with around backups:

1.  Do the NetApp backup offerings communicate with vCenter and is it vcenter that produces a VM snapshot which the array then copies?  How exactly does the mechanisim work?

2.  If SMVI can produce an application-consistent snapshot of a VM, do I still need to use SMSQL to backup my DB's?  What are the benefits (if any?)

3.  If I take a backup of a VM in my one data centre, which I then retain for quick recovery, can I also replicate that backup to my other data centre using SnapMirror? (Thus taking care off off siting of backups).

4.  Finally deduplication of data.  If I take a snapshit using SMVI can the array then subsequently provide deduplication?

Sorry, I know that there are a lot of questions but I would really appreciate your help to improve my understanding.

Thanks

Chris

3 REPLIES 3

GARDINEC_EBRD

Hi Chris,