VMware Solutions Discussions

Setup Advice Needed

PROCOPIUS1980

Hi Everyone,

I am fairly new to storage and and I am only somewhat experienced in virtualization.  I am currently in the process of installing and configuring a NetApp FAS2240 at my primary site and a FAS2220 at a DR site.  I would like to provide some details concerning my implementation and get advice!  I appologize in advance for this lengthy post.  I hope this is coherent enough to follow.

Current Conditions:

I am the network admin of a small school district.  Our needs are fairly small, but growing.  About 4 years ago, a local consultant "helped" us virtualize our data center by installingVMware ESXi on three Dell servers.  No vCenter and no shared storage.  All VMs are stored locally on the servers.  I finally have the funds necessary to put our virtual datacenter together correctly.  I am doing most of the install myself with the help of my NetApp engineer.

Equipment/Software Purchased:

On the VMware side, I have purchased VMware vCenter Foundation and 6 CPU licenses for vSphere. 

Netapp:

Primary - FAS2240-4 HA with DS4243 shelf with twelve 1TB SATA drives.  I have also purcahsed a DS2246 with twelve 600GB SAS drives.

DR - FAS2240 with twelve 1TB SATA drives.  This site will be used exclusiely for SnapMirror replication.

Design:

Networking:

The Virtual DataCenter and primary storage are connected to a Cisco WS-4506E.  I am using interface e0a on a management VLAN and I have bundled interfaces e0b - e0d into a VIF running on the same VLAN as the VMs.  I am using iSCSI and have turned up the MTU to 9000 on the ESXi hosts, the switch, and the filer.  The DR site is accessible via a 1gbps AT&T leased fiber line. 

Storage Configuration: