VMware Solutions Discussions

Why would someone recommend dedicated switches for storage network traffic?

sanman2304

Hi there, need to understand why someone would recommend having a dedicated switch stack for iSCSI\NFS storage network traffic instead of just creating a layer 2 VLAN on a current available switch stack to segment the traffic.  This switch stack is a Cisco 3750E stack.

The customer this is being recommended to has 5 ESX hosts and a dual controller FAS2020.  So in total there would be 14 network connections for ISCSI\NFS storage traffic divided between the 2 Cisco 3750E 24 port switches.  As I am new to the storage and virtualization world I've read that what should be done is create a VLAN for storage traffic to segment it from the rest of the network.  But a fellow engineer is dead set on completely separating this to different physical switches just for the iSCSI and NFS, which in my mind is a waste of money.  Out of the combined 48 ports only 14 will be used and nothing else.

I would like some direction and if the physical switch stack is not needed then what can I say to plead my case?

7 REPLIES 7

txskibum2000

Maybe he wants to put an IDS on it or a sniffer monitor the traffic?..but, if thats the case he would have gone the v1000 approach.  i dont know.

btbocesnoc

We've had to use dedicated switches in a few localtions because the Network admins would reboot the core without making sure the servers using ISCSI connections were down.  Lots of data corruption.

reinoud7

Hi, We use the same switching infrastructure for all our 24 netapp controllers and all our servers 32 ESX boxes and 50 physical servers.

The main raisons why we combine them are:

• simplicity
  • price (infrastructure and maintenance)
  • when the client/host network goes down, it's not very helpful to still have your storage network. So that's no raison for setting up the two environments

The only raison for two separate fysical infrastructure: