Are Spanned VMFS Datastores 'Safe' for production environments?

by on ‎2011-05-02 09:31 AM

Folks,

I'm a newbie to this forum, so I applogize in advance if this has been covered before.

I have a Fiber Channel connected FAS2040A and I need to present an 8TB volume to Windows Server 2008 for a Radiology Archive application

The agg consists of 10 2TB SATA drives in a RAID-DP configuration with 2 spares.

The server is running ESXi 4.1

The host O/S is Windows Server 2008

My intent was to present an 8TB LUN to ESXi and finally to the Windows 2008 virtual machine.

I was unaware of the 2TB limitation imposed by VMFS on its datastores.

The question at hand:

Are Spanned VMFS Datastores 'safe' to use in a production environment?

Both the Archive software vendor and I agree that Microsoft Dynamic Volumes are not a good soultion.

(He is currently dealing with a corrupted Microsoft Dynamic Volume at another customer's site).

We currently do not have a CIFS license for our FAS2040A system, that could be another option, but other issues then creep into the mix.

The vendor still requires Direct Attached Storage for 12-18 months worth of images and there are performance implications of Network, etc.

Bottom Line:

Has anybody had success/problems/issues/concerns with multi-extent VMFS volumes?

Thank you in advance for your comments!

-Arnold

Comments

Hi,

I'm guessing you probably wanted to start a "discussion" on the forum.  That is probably easier than a "document" (at least I think this is what you produced... I'm no power user here either).  In any case, is there any reason why you haven't considered an iSCSI volume?